Margaritaville in the Museum District: Center for Contemporary Craft Hosts Quinceanera-Themed Fiesta

Houston ChroniclePosted January 22, 2016 in In The News

Guests hardly knew where to look first upon entering “Margarita Madness! Celebrating La Quinceanera.” Safe and warm from Thursday night’s chilling winds, those inside the Houston Center for Contemporary Craft kicked off the soiree by selecting a party favor; one-of-a-kind margarita goblets crafted by local and national artists were up for grabs near the check-in table.
A photo booth complete with a treasure chest full of colorful props made for a popular second stop. “Photobomb” was inscribed on an adjacent wall while projected images of photo booth visitors streamed on another.

The festivities officially launched into full swing once husband-and-wife chairs Carlos and Karina Barbieri danced the salsa to the Latin band Trio Forte as onlookers gathered around. Bottomless Agavales Tequila margaritas (frozen and on the rocks) and tequila sunrises swirled from every direction. Swordfish ceviche, shredded pork tacos, tostadas, empanadas, and Mexico City street noodles from Greenhouse Catering fed the hungry crowd.

While most of the crowd dressed for the occasion in bright hues, floral headpieces, and even tiaras, Michael Solis took the theme to extremes in a hot pink boa, towering purple-feathered hat, and pink tulle adored with fruit and flowers. Naturally, he was a hit with selfie, Instagram, and Facebook-subscribers.

On the way out, party-goers visited an elaborate Mexican candy buffet filled with leche quemada, marzipan and tamarind. The 15th annual bash raised funds for the museum district staple thanks in part to auction bids on a Bulgari handbag, Glitter by Alex’s couture Quinceanera gown, and a week-long stay in Puerto Vallarta.

In the crowd: Edward Lane McCartney and David Gooding, Melanie Lawson and John Guess, Jr., Victoria and Marshal Lightman, Byron and Julie Pettit, Phyllis Childress, Carla Cotropia and Tom Edens, Ulises and Kara Vidal, Lisa and Michael Pearson, Nyala Wright Nolen and Selvin Jarmon O’Keefe and Catherine Anspon.